Wing – VIII: Perspective

“The irony is that we share a great kinship in this struggle to be real, though we all think we’re alone in our struggles to be here.” – Mark Nepo from The Art of Being Sensitive

For several years I’ve noticed hawks at times of distress or worry. To me, the hawk is a comforting sentinel. To the hawk, I am just a speck in their broad landscape.

Today is my 40th birthday. This past week many people have asked me if turning 40 is hard or depressing. I know they ask because that is our narrative – 40 is the big one.

At first I nodded until I realized I was just following the same script. It felt good to be real and say:

“No, cancer was hard. I’m grateful for 40.”

2 thoughts on “Wing – VIII: Perspective

Leave a Reply

